“Discipline your son, and he will give you rest; he will give delight to your heart.”

I read this verse today while doing my daily study through Ephesians. It’s not the first time I’ve read this verse but it’s the first time that reading it brought me great encouragement and an incredible desire to stay the course. When Michael was an infant we were quite disciplined with his schedule although at times it meant hearing him cry or being home when we didn’t want to be. As he grew into a pre-toddler we began to discipline him for certain things. This too was difficult at times. Now that he’s a full-fledged toddler 🙂 sometimes I find myself disciplining all day long. It can make a mother weary but when I read Proverbs 29:17 I was reminded of the rest and time for our marriage that we received by being disciplined with his schedule. I’m thankful for a report from my sister-in-law saying that Michael was fun to have for the day and can only thank God that he helped us have the courage to begin disciplining. And now, when we’re only at the beginning (I’m sure) of several years of training this verse encourages me to press on so that Michael will continue to “give delight to our hearts.”

Praise the Lord for His word that gives us wisdom in the discipline and instruction of our children.

What a delight!

