I’ve been reading to Michael before at least one nap during the day and Aaron and I read to him before bed at night.  Michael has several baby Bibles or Bible storybooks or the like and if you have read any of those you know that they all use the same six to ten stories and make theirs unique with flaps, illustrations, wording or my favorite, a response sentence or action.  I heard and read the same stories when I was a child and over the years somehow I have ceased seeing the wonder in these amazing stories like Daniel in the Lions’ Den, Baby Moses in the River, David and Goliath and Noah and the Ark. 

I realized this the other day when I was reading to Michael the story about Noah.  God looked at this world that he had created and saw that everyone in it was evil.  Everyone but one man and his family.  Noah was a man after God’s own heart and he lived his life in such a way that was pleasing to God.  God decided that there was too much evil in the world and told Noah to build a gigantic boat because he was going to flood the earth.  He told Noah to bring onto the boat one of every kind of animal and his wife, sons and their wives.  Noah obeyed God and the short version is God flooded the earth and everything but the Ark and Noah and his family was destroyed.  Three things stood out to me:

  1. There was only ONE man (and his family) who was not evil.  That is a LOT of evil and this Man must have been quite the man!!!  He didn’t live like the rest of the world (literally) did, rather he loved the Lord so much that he sought to honor Him in spite of the fact that that was REALLY weird!
  2. He must have been an incredible leader!  For this man to raise up three sons that would honor God in a world so evil that God wanted to destroy it, is quite an amazing thing.  He must have called on the Lord daily, hourly, every minute for wisdom, strength, grace, mercy… you name it.  That is the only way he could be the leader that he was. 
  3. God is faithful to those who love Him.  Why save one man and his family when the rest of the world is evil?  Why not just destroy the whole lot of them and start over?  He could have done that.  It might have been easier.  But he didn’t because He is faithful. 

My prayer is that I am always in awe of my God and His faithfulness to His people!

