Last Saturday night Aaron and I ran the 5k at Midnight Madness in Ames along with Andy, Amanda and Joel.  Although it likely wasn’t the best time I have ever run a 5k in, it felt like the best race of my life.  For the first time ever Aaron decided to run the entire race with me.  As we approached the starting line Aaron told me we would start out easy and then pick it up the last stretch.  When he said we’d pick it up I figured that meant that about half-way through he would take off sprinting.  I was totally wrong.  Aaron coached me through the entire run, encouraging me to pick it up just a little bit every few minutes. 

I have terrible breathing when I’m running and Aaron routinely comments on it when we run together.  I’ve tried to change it but every attempt leaves me close to hyperventilating so I’ve just resigned myself to the fact that it’s not changing.  This time Aaron gave me the BEST tip ever and I was cured!  I’m not quite sure why he waited four years to give it to me.  I think he was afraid I would beat him and since I just had Michael 3 months ago he probably thought he was safe. 🙂 

As we neared the finish he told me to kick it in and we finished strong… together!!!  It was a lot of fun!  The only regret that I have is that I didn’t finish with my signature arm pump.  If any of you knew me back in junior high or high school you know what I’m talking about.  For those of you who missed out, sorry.  Maybe I’ll do a reenactment for another post.   

Here’s to my coach!!!  Thanks for a great run Babe!!!!

  

Aaron, me, Amanda (the newest Sage), Andy and Joel

The crazy guys decided to go run the 10k after we all got through with the 5k.  Loony toons!!

